Think, think, think

To be, to have, to think, to move—which of these verbs is the one you feel most connected to? Or is there another verb that characterizes you better?The Daily Post

To be: This sounds like the goal of meditation practice. Not identifying with either my thoughts or my body, just existing in the moment. On rare occasions, I may even have reached this state, if only for a few seconds, but not nearly enough to feel like this is “my” verb.

To have: When I first read this, I pictured materialism, an attitude of I am what I have. Images of shallow, greedy characters from books and movies leaped to mind. But then I considered what I have. I try to only hold onto things that reflect me in some sense: my interests, my style, my personality. I find it hard to let go of my things because often they’re keys to my memories (apartment as giant, unwieldy scrapbook!), even if they no longer fit who I’ve become. So this verb, too, is part of me.

Picture of dictionary definition of think.
photo credit: jDevaun.Photography via photopin cc

To think: This is me! Well, I’m not alone: a quick glance over the other posts for this prompt suggests that many people connect to this verb. Only every now and then can I move beyond my thoughts and see them as separate from me—those rare moments I manage to just be. Most of the time, though, I put a little distance between myself and life, not just experiencing things, but analyzing what I’m experiencing.

To move: This is the complement to thinking, not being in my head but in my body, acting rather than analyzing. Unfortunately, it’s almost as alien to me as simply being is.

If I tried, I could probably add an armful of verbs to this list that I could make better use of to describe myself. Although if I did so, all that mental exercise would show over and over again exactly how connected I am to think! 🙂

Leave a Reply

